Where did everyone learn about retrofit?

I’m a little new to the subject - I did one of carbon coop’s courses last year with Nick Parsons and it was very helpful, but I’m aware half a dozen zoom sessions don’t make a retrofitter. So: what books, courses, TV programmes and experiences have gone into your learning about retrofitting your house?

I took the AECB CarbonLite Retrofit course. You need to be a member of AECB to participate but membership is free to Carbon Co-op members.

The course is a combination of online learning, podcasts and self realisation. School maths and physics would also be useful. I have up to AS and A level.

Passing the course entitles you to get a job as a Retrofit Coordinator but as I have no building or engineering experience I doubt that any application would result in a job offer.

Edit: I’ve also read extensively about EnerPHit, which is my (unrealistic) target for my own home.

2 Likes

On a quest to reduce my household carbon footprint, I went to a Carbon Coop AGM, knowing practically nothing about them - I found myself volunteering to be a householder observer on the board.

Attending CC webinars and workshops, I listened and used what I did already know about our home - draughts, damp, leaky windows, draughty floor, boiling hot /freezing cold rooms , hardly any insulation, heat loss, solid wall construction - I gradually started to see where we should make do and mend and where we’d benefit from bigger more costly measures.

I think for any householder learning about retrofit, I soon realised there are few key areas that need to be applied and balanced in a building - airtightness, ventilation, draught-proofing, thermal bridging and insulating.
That the building fabric is first!!
Fabric First - ensures the layers you attach to are sound and prepared for your next layer. For us this was sorting out the non breathable liner in our roof causing a moisture problem, before fitting the solar PV.