Tips for applying wood fibre IWI

I have noticed several forum members stating that they wanted to fit wood fibre IWI. I have no practical experience to add to those conversations but today I can across advice from a member if LinkdIn, Adam Harper. He is a director of AECB and recently started working for The City of York as their Housing Development Manager. If anyone knows a trick for wood fibre insulation it should be him.

I couldn’t see a way to link to the article so copy it below.

I borrowed a trick from my former team at Green Building Store and mounted the light back boxes on thin pieces of CompacFoam. This provides a solid fixing, reduces the thermal bridges and brings the front of the back box out so it will line up with the wood fibre.

Some things I’ve learnt from installing woodfibre as internal wall insulation:

1. It’s time consuming to measure and cut the woodfibre pieces to size to fit around services, plan plenty of time as it will take you longer than you think. Getting the boards to fit tightly butted up to each other is essential to stop cold bridges. But you can always fill small gaps with Diathonite insulating plaster.

2. It’s better to use one layer of woodfibre than two if you can. I used two layers of 20mm as I got a stack of leftovers from another job, but 40mm would have been quicker to install and better thermal performance.

3. Applying the lime adhesive is messy and you need the right tools. A notched trowel (9-10mm) is advised though a 6mm notched trowel would be ok.

4. Use good quality insulation plugs to mechanically fix the woodfibre. I used Ejot ones, they are very good as they have a pin that is hammered in to provide a really secure fix.

Any other advice from members?

Use a bread knife to cut it and wear goggles if working overhead

1 Like

Fitted 200 mm of wood fibre to single solid walls rising into undated space (loft). Found a rubber mallet and a flat piece of wood useful for getting the thick batts nicely butted up.