Thermal Image Analysis

I borrowed the FLIR thermal imaging camera. I didn’t find anything shocking, but there are a couple of images of my living room that I don’t fully understand. I live in a barn converson. The walls of this part of the house are about 1m thick. They comprise of stone on the outside, a cavity (no insulation) and the internal wall. I attach two sets of photos. The first two were taken today with the outside temp about 9c and no wind. The second two were taken yesterday with the outside temp about 7c and a strong wind. Both sets show the same two external corners.

Today 9c, no wind:
FLIR0125
FLIR0129

Yesterday 7c and windy:
FLIR0081
FLIR0084

Is there anything to be worried about? I suspect these are fine as the walls are not insulated.

Thanks
Andy

Hi Andy, I am no expert but the low temperature indication would be of concern to me - 6.2C on an internal wall (heated space) is a bit low. Might be worth sticking a moisture probe on it. If you can access the ceiling space it might be worth a-look-see. Knowing how the ceiling is constructed is the first step before interpretation.

Thanks. I thought that, but when I used the camera outside, it was recording temperatures at -2C when it was about 7C yesterday. So, I repeated the tests today and the temperatures on the same walls are double at around 14-16C. I suspect the change is the camera and not the weather. When I find my moisture gauge I will check it, but I am more confident today than yesterday.

However, I was not sure if the patterns of colder areas looked suspicous or not. None of my other external walls/ceilings look like this, but these corners are a little more exposed. That square patch on the right of the last photo looks too square?

Agreed. It definitely needs a nosey around in the loft. Check under the insulation too in case the substrate is different.