Sealing up an external air duct to gas fire

I am relatively new to home improvements but having done the simple things to insulate the loft, loft hatch etc of a 4 storey 1999 townhouse I wanted to improve the airtightness of the building. We have solar panels, Tesla battery & an electric car. Ultimately, I would like to install an ASHP but currently the property is borderline to install one, not least as the 5 houses all have integral garages. It has partial fill cavity walls but unfilled cavity party walls. I am in the process of removing a gas fire with a flue to the roof on a party wall, exiting via a chimney that had a rain excluding cap on already but appropriate for the fire to continue to be used. The gas fire is on the first floor, so I anticipated that was a sizable stack effect might be making the room colder. The fire was disconnected from the mains supply, and I had hoped to at least block the flue with a balloon or chimney sweep and leave the disconnected fire as a feature for now. Unexpectedly, there is also a plastic ventilation duct behind the fire which is fed from an air brick type vent on the exterior. I hadn’t considered this possibility to explain the vent externally, mistaking it for an air brick. I would like to seal the newly discovered vent but am concerned about leaving it in situ. A thermal camera doesn’t suggest the duct is contributing a lot of heat loss in the assumed route across the floor. The internal run is about 1.5m. Vinyl flooring was installed over the chipboard deck in the room some years ago & there was nothing at the time suggesting a ventilation duct. I can upload images but hadn’t checked how to do that before composing this so will submit & try. Essentially there is a knocked hole in the base of the fireplace where the rectangular ducting appears and externally the airbrick/vent opening. I assume this was" excavated" when the house was built & fire installed.